Sheriff L. Shane Nelson

Deschutes County

63333 W. Hwy. 20 Bend, OR 97703



Visit website

About Sheriff L. Shane Nelson

Effective July 1, 2015, Sheriff L. Shane Nelson began serving the citizens of Deschutes County as their Sheriff. He was appointed unanimously to fill the remainder of Retired Sheriff Larry Blanton’s term by the Deschutes County Board of Commissioners. Sheriff Nelson has been a member of the Sheriff’s Office for 22 years, having served in the positions of reserve deputy, patrol deputy sheriff, corporal, criminal detective, patrol sergeant, patrol lieutenant, administrative lieutenant, operations division commander, corrections division commander and currently your Sheriff.

In 1993, Sheriff Nelson earned his Bachelor of Science degree in speech communication from Oregon State University. He holds executive level certification from the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training and has previously completed the middle management course. Sheriff Nelson continuing education through completion of “Supervision in the Public Sector” from the Mark O. Hatfield School of Government from Portland State University, was in class #2 of the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association Command College and is a graduate of the 2012 Leadership Course in Bend, Oregon.

“The opportunity to serve as only the ninth Sheriff of Deschutes County is humbling,” said Sheriff Nelson. “I am excited to serve the citizens as their Sheriff and continue excellent community partnerships.”

“Retiring Sheriff Larry Blanton has left the agency in excellent shape. The programs and policies that have been implemented during his eight years as Sheriff is a legacy most people only hope to achieve. What he has done for Deschutes County has come from his heart.”

“My goal as Sheriff is to build on the legacy of Sheriff Blanton, which includes continuing to provide quality service that our citizens expect and deserve. We will continue to work proactively to enhance community safety through viable programs that are tailored to the needs of Deschutes County.”